Bout of Books 17 – Sign Up and TBR

Hello all!! Yes, I’ve been away for months now. I didn’t choose to abandon you all – I had a few personal problems I was trying to focus on and blogging took a back seat (an understatement really – blogging was being dragged along on a piece of string behind the car really). But things are better now and to celebrate I’ve decided to throw myself into reading with my first ever read-a-thon!! This is super exciting for me. I chose the Bout of Books read-a-thon because it seemed less intense than some other read-a-thons (which is good for my first one) and because it’s starting tomorrow, 22nd August 2016! If you don’t know what Bout of Books is, here’s the official blurb from their website:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Sounds fun, right? I’m very excited for this, and I’ve set up a little TBR to share with you guys. I might not get through all of my list (in fact it’s really highly unlikely) but I’m going to try my best! My TBR is split into three sections: physical books, kindle books, and audio books.

Physical Books:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne – I am a huge Potter nerd but I haven’t been able to read the play yet. I preordered it but had to send it to my parent’s house as I didn’t know where I was moving at the time. By the time I’d moved into my new flat it was too late to change the delivery so it’s sitting waiting for me to get home. It’s a good job I’m heading back tomorrow!

Spectacles by Sue Perkins – my mum and I really enjoy Sue Perkins, and I bought my mum her book last Christmas. She assures me it’s good so I’ll hopefully borrow it off her and read it while I’m back home. Why not aim to read it this week?! I feel like I’ll be able to read both of the books mentioned quite quickly, so hopefully I’ll have a good start to the week (I say start but I’ll be spending tomorrow on a train where I won’t have access to either of them…oh well).

The Light Between Oceans by M L Stedman – I’ve already started this book but I’ve only read the first two chapters so I’m adding it to the TBR for this week. Unlike the other two physical books, I bought The Light Between Oceans here in Edinburgh and I’ll be taking it back with me so I’ll get stuck into it while on the train. I’ve heard some good stuff about this one so I’m excited to continue reading it.

Kindle Books:

The Butterfly Garden  by Dot Hutchison – this is a “borrowed book”, the first time I’ve tried the library option on kindle, available to Prime members. It’s about a garden full of kidnapped women and seems very intriguing. I’m looking forward to this one.

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty – I saw this advertised on Facebook and it looked quite interesting. I looked it up and it was on sale so I decided to go for it. I think it’s a particularly long book so it should be easy to breeze through it.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – this is another one I’ve already started so should be able to finish this week. I haven’t actually read any Patrick Ness before, but this one seems amusing so far so I’m happy to continue it.

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge – this one seems very interesting and I’m excited to get started with it. I tend to read kindle books quite quickly so I think I’ll manage to get onto this.

There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake – this also looks fun so I’m excited to start this one as well if I can.

Audio Books:

Beside Myself by Ann Morgan – this sounds brilliant, and I think it’ll be even more atmospheric in audio book form. Really looking forward to this one.

Someone Like You by Roald Dahl – I’ve already started listening to this one, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to finish it. It’s a collection of short stories which makes it really easy to whip through while I’m on the bus or in the car.

So that’s my list! 10 books…pretty ambitious. I don’t really have a plan, but I’m hoping at the very least I’ll finish the audio books and the physical books. Are you doing Bout of Books? What are you hoping to read? Have you done a read-a-thon before? Any advice or tips on how to proceed?

Leave a Reply

