Friday: London in Pictures

Hey all! My best friend and I are in London for a little mini break, and I thought I’d share with you all what we get up to. There’s so much to do here – we’ve been discussing coming for a week next time to be able to her more in! I’ll do each day separately as I think we’ll get up to a lot more on Saturday. 

  
We got into Euston station a little after lunchtime. We didn’t have to be at our room until 3 so we headed off in search of lunch. The weather was amazing all day, and hopefully it’ll be just as good the rest of the weekend!

  
We went to one of the many Pret a Manger cafés for lunch. I had a sushi selection, edamame beans and red grapes, with a coconut smoothie. It was kinda expensive but I saved most of the beans and all of the grapes to eat later. You can tell how sunny it is by the terrible photo quality!! I was so desperate to tuck in though that I didn’t realise until the food had been packed away…

  
We were pretty disorganised in our plans, but we managed to find a room on AirBnB. It’s in Teddington (although we get off the train here). It’s a lovely room and the host is so nice! Hannah and I bought Oyster cards, and I almost had a heart attack the first time I used it – I thought the journey had cost £13.55 when the machine was actually telling me that I had £13.55 left on my card!! So much for being of the technology generation, huh?

  
We’re staying in a beautiful classic leafy suburb, with squirrels! They wouldn’t stay still for a photo shoot though…

  
And this is the lovely posh bit of town that we found ourselves in when we got lost…how on earth do you get lost from Regents Street to Leicester Square?!? We must’ve taken a wrong turning somewhere but don’t ask me where… At least we got lost in what looks like a nice neighbourhood though.

  
At last we made it to Leicester Square. I love it here – all the hustle and bustle is so exciting! We went into a theatre booking office to see if there were any cheap tickets going, and we managed to get tickets to a show on Saturday night – you’ll have to wait for tomorrow’s post to find out what we saw and what we thought of it though! We also attempted to find Cafe Rouge as we have vouchers but it was nowhere to be seen! I’m adamant it was somewhere near Leicester Square as we’ve been before, and we even asked a bouncer and still couldn’t find it. In the end we gave up and went to Ed’s Diner instead. We’ll find Cafe Rouge tomorrow.

   
   
Ed’s Diner is adorable! It even has little jukeboxes by every table – gotta love a bit of Elvis when you’re eating your American classics, right? I had the Chickpea and Quinoa burger plate (it came with fries, onion rings and coleslaw). I was so hungry I just dived straight in without taking a picture but it was delicious! I DID remember to take a photo of my dessert though. I had the pancakes with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream. It was heaven on earth! The pancakes were lovely and light and fluffy, and soaked up the syrup beautifully. Even the ice cream, which is usually just the limp side, was so creamy and completely delicious! If any of you guys ever go to Ed’s Diner then I totally recommend you try the pancakes. Go! Now! 

And that’s really all we did the first afternoon. Stay tuned for pictures of Camden Market, (hopefully) the Globe Theatre and the show! See you soon guys.

Leave a Reply

