Derby Shopping Haul and Rereading Harry Potter!

Hey everyone!! I took a little trip to Derby, a town in the Midlands about an hour from my home, on the train today and bought a few bits and bobs I thought I’d show you all!  

First though, can we all take a moment to look at the canvas bag (back right) I got from Schuh?! It was £2 (£1.80 with student discount) and half of that goes to charity. It’s adorable!! It’s sturdy and well made and has a lovely design of a shoe on it. I’m definitely taking it back up to Edinburgh with me.

The first thing I bought was this lovely skirt from Apricot. It’s a beautiful khaki/charcoal mix kind of colour with a brown belt, and it’s just shy of ankle length. I needed a new skirt from when I go to a festival in Lichfield next weekend, and also to wear up in Edinburgh when (hopefully) the weather will be lovely and sunny. It swishes around and is really nice and cool to wear. Plus it’s that fabric that’s naturally quite crinkly so I don’t have to worry about ironing it!  

Also from Apricot, and my only other clothing purchase, was this really nice top. It’s longer than a T-shirt and will go beautifully with jeans or my patterned trousers (of which I have many pairs). I don’t have a lot of plain tops, and this is a plain white colour with a beautiful lace pattern all over it and a sewn in slip underneath. It’s the perfect top that will transition easily from day to night just by adding some accessories and ramping up the makeup. The top was initially £20 and I think the skirt was £25, but Apricot do 10% student discount so make sure you take your student card with you if that applies to you!

Next up is this GORGEOUS purse from New Look. I adore anything related to world cities or travel and this is so cute! It’s just a little coin purse with a zip at the top and just the one compartment inside. All buses in Edinburgh are £1.50 so I thought if I got a coin purse I can put all my bus fares in there to keep them handy, with the added bonus of no longer having all that change straining my actual purse. I don’t know how much this was (my mum bought it for me) but New Look do of course do student discount.  

Next is the purchase that I’m probably most excited about – a travel journal/diary (told you I loved travel stuff)! It has such a stunning cover, and inside has different sections to write down details about your accommodations, itineraries, notes, graphs, maps you can highlight and so much more. I love it!! I’ll do a post about this in much more depth when I start using it (hopefully in July when I go to London).  I got this from Paperchase and it was £8 before student discount (I should actually mention here that I have an NUS extra card which is what I show for student discount, not just a regular student ID so some of these may not work for normal ID). I also signed up for a Paperchase loyalty card (it was free and you get rewards etc).

And finally, I bought a new pair of Toms! I love them for summer anyway, but I think the lovely daisies on this pair make them even more summery. I’ve been clinging onto my old pair for years but I’ve had to face the fact that they’re on their last legs. I think having this pair will make the goodbye easier though! These were £40 I think before discount (kind of pricey for canvas shoes I know, but they will be my only splurge item for a very long time).

In other news, I have finished about 5 books which I still haven’t done reviews for (I have notes for all of them though so will be writing and uploading them soon) and I’m in the middle of reading a couple more. I also need to read a few from my shelves before I go back to Edinburgh so my mum can take them on holiday to read. So I’m reading one of them, right? Nope of course not. I’m rereading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Obviously got my priorities sorted…

Hope you enjoyed this, and I’ll talk to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

