Half Price Books!

Okay, okay ONE half price book but still! Books on sale! I walked past WH Smiths today and I saw the advert in the window, and I just couldn’t resist. I call the my pre-congratulatory present to myself for passing my exams. 

Funny Girl by Nick Hornby, £3.99 (usually £7.99)

  
This is the story of Barbara, a young woman who runs away to London in the 1960s to seek her fortune. And then it’s the story of Barbara’s new life as Sophie Straw, a popular funny girl with her own comedy series. But of course fame is a fickle thing and so is a television audience, and I doubt that Sophie will be able to stay at the top for the entire book. I could be wrong…but I doubt it. Anyway, it sounded pretty interested and I like Hornby’s writing so I decided to give it a whirl! I think I’ll be starting this one as soon as I’ve finished a couple of others I have on the go.

Leave a Reply

