Restaurant Review: Noodle ‘n’ Ice Edinburgh

  

A friend and I went out to lunch today, and we chose this restaurant because it is very conviently placed, in the middle of South Bridge. The food is all Asian, with quite a bit of Thai influence throughout the menu. It was lovely inside, with an ice cream counter as you go in and tables down the side. It’s a small restaurant but a lovely one, perfect for a casual lunch.

I had the King Prawn Pad Thai (on my friend’d recommendation) and she had the Singapore Noodles. We also shared two of the light bites (the actual names escape me) – deep fried sweet potato and vegetarian spring rolls.  All the food was very quick to arrive, hot and the portions were very well sized. My Pad Thai was £7.50 and from what I can remember most main dishes were around this price. The light bites were around £3 each. 

Something which I very much appreciated was that the Pad Thai was served with nuts and chilli flakes, but these were put in little heaps on the side of the plate, allowing you to mix in as much or as little as you wanted. The dishes on the menu were also clearly marked for allergens and potential contact with nuts. The menu also stated that most of the dishes could be prepared and made vegan, which I thought was a very good idea.

I really wanted to try the ice cream (or they do ice cream milkshakes and smoothies – even better!) but it was cold and rainy and not really ice cream weather so I had to skip that. But we will definitely be coming back so I can get one then!!

Overall, the meal and atmosphere was terrific, and my friend and I were both very pleased we decided to go there. We will definitely be going again and I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys Asian food. I’m sure the ice creams were delicious too!!

Note: I believe Noodle ‘n’ Ice also operate a takeaway service, although I’m not sure if they deliver or if you have to order and collect the food from the restaurant.

Leave a Reply

