Second Hand Book Haul!

Hey everyone! Now I’ll be frank, I’m not supposed to be buying “non essentials” until the end of April (I don’t exactly have the funds for it until my last student loan instalment comes through). BUT, I was walking past a second hand bookshop today and I just couldn’t resist a peek inside, especially when I saw the two books of fairy tales in the window! Needless to say I also had a browse and, well, I ended up buying 5 books. I know, I know. But they only cost me £17 for the lot! And the shop owner was lovely! How was I to resist? If any of you are wandering around the Meadows in Edinburgh and happen to spot Till Bookshop, a lovely little green shop, I really encourage you to step inside. 

  

The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side by Agatha Christie. I’m not too sure what this particular one is about, but as a big fan of Christie I’m sure I’ll love it. The shop also had Murder on the Orient Express and I’m very tempted to go back and get it.

  

This is another true story from a special needs teacher and educational psychologist. Ghost Girl tells the story of a little girl who refused to speak until Hayden met her and refused to give up on her. I read a lot of this type of book, and find them fascinating, so I was pleased to pick this one up too.

  

Next up is Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, the first in the His Dark Materials trilogy (they also had the second two books and the film cover of this book, but I managed to limit myself to just this one). Lyra finds herself on an epic adventure to find her missing friend and encounters many strange and wonderful characters on her quest. 

  

The Complete Illustrated Stories of The Brothers Grimm. I saw this book in the window and it is the reason I stepped inside. It’s a lovely hardback that contains 200 stories (both the mainstream ones – original versions not Disney versions – and the more obscure ones) and lovely little line drawings for each story. It’s a beautiful book and I’m very pleased to have picked it up.

  

And finally, The Second Virago Book of Fairy Tales edited by Angela Carter. This too has little illustrations (and even some full page ones!) and it contains fairy takes I’ve never heard of before so I’m really looking forward to reading it. 

And that’s my book haul! And they cost just £17! I’m so happy, this is my little Easter treat to myself. Have any of you read these? Tell me what you thought in the comments.

Leave a Reply

