Library Haul, Currently Reading & ANOTHER Reading Challenge?!?

Hey everyone! This is a quick update on my current reading, and also to let you know about the new Readathon I’ve started. But first, my library haul:

IMG_1094
I’ve requested around 6 books from the library but only 2 were there today. These were:

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith – a novel set in Botswana about a rather unconventional female detective. The is apparently the first book in a series, so if I like it then hopefully I can find the others.

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin – this is about a man and his four wives, and their lives in Africa. I don’t know too much about this, but it looks pretty interesting so I’ll give it a shot.

This brings me to my next news – a new Readathon I’m participating in! It’s called the Continent Readathon and it was invented by TheBookJazz on YouTube (check out her channel or the Readathon page on Goodreads). Every month (or possibly every two months) the challenge is to read books from a certain continent. February’s continent is Africa! Obviously I’ll be reading the two books mentioned above, and I’ve also got 4 (I think) more due to be delivered to my local library. Hopefully they’ll come soon and I can get stuck into this challenge. You know, because I’m doing so well in my other challenge…

And finally, I thought I’d update you on the books I’m currently reading. Obviously there’s the two already mentioned that I’ll be reading this month, as well as (from top):

IMG_1096

IMG_1099

IMG_1100

IMG_1097

Hogfather by Terry Pratchett – this was recommended to me, and is about Death, who has to take over the Hogfather’s job on (what amounts to) Christmas Eve, and Susan, Death’s granddaughter who has to try and put things right. It’s a bit weird, but good so far!

I Miss Mummy by Cathy Glass – this is a true story (or based on) about an emergency foster carer and the children she fosters. This book is about Alice, a little girl who is taken away from her seemingly loving mother and grandparents.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – a circus appears in towns with no warning and no advertisements. It’s open from dusk till dawn, not in the day. It’s a cool concept, but I’m not far enough into the book yet to tell if I like it.

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy – this is about a girl, Stephanie, who’s uncle dies and leaves her his house and his fortune. At the wake she meets Skulduggery, a rather mysterious detective, and gets drawn into a world of magic she never knew existed. I’m REALLY enjoying this so far!

So that’s all for now – I’ll be sure to do another library haul when the rest of my books get here. Have you read any of these? What did you think? Are you taking part in any readathons this year and, if so, which ones? Is anyone else doing the Continent Readathon? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

