Reading and Writing Challenges Update 1

Hey guys! So some of you may remember that I did a post on my reading and writing resolutions (if you want to recap it, click here: https://secretsofthestudentlife.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/reading-and-writing-challenges-2015/ ). This is my January recap and update (a couple of days late). Enjoy!

I am failing ridiculously at my reading challenges. I haven’t finished a single book yet (I’m usually way better than this but I’ve put it down to settling back into the uni routine and recent stresses) BUT I am most of the way through three of the categories – “a book set during Christmas” (Hogfather by Terry Pratchett), “a book based on a true story” (I Miss Mummy by Cathy Glass) and “a book by an author you’ve never read before” (Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy). I will DEFINITELY finish these, and hopefully a couple more, by the end of the month.

I’m doing equally badly with my writing resolutions. Although I have been writing more recently, I haven’t been doing it every day, and I’m nowhere near any first drafts. This month I’m trying harder to write daily now that I’ve settled into a routine again. I haven’t written any fanfiction at all, but I’ve had some really good ideas for one shots recently so hopefully I’ll write all those and it’ll kick start my brain into wanting to write again.

So there you go! I’m…kinda failing. But it’s still early in the year and now that I’ve settled down here in Edinburgh again (and once I’ve sorted out my flat and everything for next year!) I’ll have more time and hopefully more inclination to knuckle down and read and write. Have any of you made resolutions or challenges for this year? How are you doing with sticking to them?

Leave a Reply

