Breakfast! Scrambled egg, bacon and Scottish oatcakes

Hey everyone! One of the main, regular features of this blog will be recipe ideas and meals that I, a poor broke student, actually eat. The idea is to keep all the meal ideas I like in the same place for easy use, while also helping anyone out there who needs some cheap and easy recipe ideas that are delicious to eat and quick to make. So let’s get started!

IMG_0539.JPG

The main ingredients you need for this are:
2 eggs
3 rashers of bacon
3 Scottish oatcakes (or whatever other savoury, breakfast biscuit type thing is local to you).

IMG_0540.JPG

First, you need to hear a little bit of oil in a frying pan. I used olive oil but any oil or Fry Lite will do. Put the heat up to the highest setting and make sure the oil is hot enough to slide around the pan and coat the bottom.

IMG_0541.JPG

IMG_0542.JPG

Then of course comes the actual cooking. I did the bacon first because that takes the longest to cook. Turn the heat down to a medium setting, then place your bacon rashers down. REMEMBER to wash your hands after this and before doing anything else – please don’t give yourselves food poisoning! Leave the bacon to cook away until it’s completely opaque and then flip.
I also cracked my eggs into a bowl because I’m always worried about shell getting into the frying pan. If you’re better at cracking eggs than me, you can just skip this bit.

IMG_0543.JPG

Now, when I woke up his morning I was planning to do fried eggs but I got to the kitchen, opened the fridge and realised I needed to use my milk up. SO I went for scrambled egg instead. Really, any kind will go with this. I drink soya milk but, again, any milk is good; splash a little into the bowl and mix with a fork until all the egg and milk is combined.

IMG_0544.JPG

IMG_0546.JPG

IMG_0545.JPG

Now, I like a little cheese when I’m doing scrambled egg, so I chopped a little Wensleydale with cranberries…mostly because that’s the only cheese I have right now. Tastes good though! You can skip this step if you want, but I just think the cheese adds a little extra taste.

Then, take your bacon out of the pan and place it on some kitchen towel, just to drain off any oil or fat.

Pour the scrambled egg into the pan, and don’t forget to keep stirring it with a spatula or wooden spoon – otherwise you’ll get an omelette instead! Keep stirring until it’s turned solid and there’s no liquids left. I’m always of the mindset that it’s better to slightly overcook than undercook, especially where eggs and meat are concerned.

IMG_0547.JPG

Then, when the egg was cooked through, I just turned off the heat and mixed my cheese into the egg.

Then just put the bacon, egg and biscuits onto your plate.

That’s it! It took around 20 minutes, and it’s VERY good to eat. Best of all, you can adapt it to use up anything. Got some tomatoes that need eating? Put them in your egg too! Forgotten about that turkey you bought a few days ago? Have that instead of bacon!
It’s really simple, really delicious and really quick! And that’s all I need in a breakfast. Hope you enjoyed this post and, if you give this idea a whirl, let me know what you think! Did you like it? Did you modify it? See you soon!

IMG_0548.JPG

Leave a Reply

